ED501 RSS Feeds

RSS in the classroom:

My idea is to use RSS in the classroom to track the volatility of the Euro vs. the U.S. dollar. Students could use google reader to scribe to feeds from different sites and then use excel and/or powerpoint to track and present the data that they collect. They could track the trends for a month, a semester, or a year. They could make predictions about what they think will happen and why.

By using the RSS feature in the beginning of the year I (their teacher) could help the students find the appropriate websites to gather information from. This would also be a perfect collaborative work project between math and social studies (probably most appropriate in the middle school or junior high setting).  I would set up regular check points to address any questions or concerns.

Students could present their information and predictions of the future by making graphs though excel as well as powerpoint. The social studies department could integrate the social relevance and history.  The math department could use statistics and probability models (depending on the level of math).  This would be an interesting and interactive way for the students to learn more about technology and economics!

Check out the special bundle I made just for this project!

About kimberlyhefty

Hello. My name is Kimberly Hefty and I live in Sammamish, Washington. For the past 23 years I have taught high school and college level mathematics. 13 years ago I started a private tutoring business. I specialize in working with public high school students who are taking math courses "on-line". I work closely with both the students and the local school district. I typically work with 40-50 students per week. I also have 2 children ages 14 and 23. My daughter just graduated from Elon University in North Carolina. My son plays competitive golf and premiere soccer so most of my weekends are spent at either soccer or golf tournaments. I am excited to be completing the Master's In Educational Technology Program from BSU (M.E.T.) Spring 2015! Through this program I have gained a better understanding of educational technology and it’s applications. I believe that the knowledge that I have gained will be beneficial personally, as well as to my students. With these skills that I have learned in the Educational Technology program, I hope to help myself and my students be successful in future endeavors. The M.E.T. program has allowed me to create an environment for all of us, my students along with myself, to gain skills for education, employment, and existence.
This entry was posted in 3.1 Media Utilization, 4.3 Delivery System Management, 4.4 Information Management, STANDARD 3 UTILIZATION, STANDARD 4 MANAGEMENT, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

