Poll: Taking an Online Math Course

This is my first attempt at creating a poll.  I wondered what is the value of a poll and why would I want to use one.

I found an interesting article by Mark Blumenthal “The Value of Polling” and it made me think about what I might want to discover and how a poll could help me.  This article is really discussing the value of public opinion polls, specifically political polls.  But why would I want to use a poll?

I would want to use a poll to grow my business!  I found a great article by Ellen Williams, How to Use Surveys and Polls to Grow Your Business.  She outlines 10 effective ways to use a survey [poll].

1. Take a quick pulse with a poll

Is there one specific question you’d like to ask your audience? It takes about a minute for you to create one, and another minute for someone to take it. Bam. Your customers and members are more engaged already.

2. Get blog topic ideas

Create a poll asking which blog topics your audience is most interested in. Be sure to put it in an email, on your Facebook Page, or link to it on your Twitter account. After all, you’re trying to create the content your audience wants to read—they know best what that is!

3. Use polls and surveys as social media content

You know you’re supposed to regularly update your Twitter account and Facebook Page, but once in a while everyone gets “social media block.” A short survey or poll makes fast, easy content. Use your poll to find out what kind of information your audience wants to see on your social pages in the future!

4. Let your list segment itself

Segmenting your list helps you reach the right audience with the right message. The right message is the one that fits that particular audience’s needs, and who better knows their needs than the audience itself? Add a poll to your email newsletter asking your list to segment themselves, whether by product, industry, program, etc, so you can better target your communications.

5. Get website feedback

Your organization’s website is one of the first places your customers or supporters are going to go to learn more about you, and if you’re selling your product or raising money through your site, it’s an even bigger deal. Add a link to a short survey and find out if your visitors like your site’s layout, can find the information they’re looking for, or if they like a recent improvement.

6. Capture sales leads

A survey can help qualify possible sales leads. Use a short survey to find out which of your products or programs customers are interested in, or whether they’re looking for something you don’t offer (yet).

7. Evaluate customer satisfaction

If you’re selling or accepting donations on your site, you probably send a follow-up email to confirm, right? Add a link to a survey or poll in that email and find out if your customers are satisfied with the purchase process, and what you can do to make it better.

8. Learn what events they’re looking for

Planning an event is a big deal, especially when you’re a nonprofit that relies on events to help raise the funds you need to do your work. Before you invest time and money into planning an event you hope your supporters will like, create a poll asking what kind of event they’d like to attend, and give them some options.

9. Get competitive

You can use surveys are to host contests on your website or Facebook Page. Come up with a cool idea—“Which of our cupcakes deserves the prestigious ‘Cupcake of the Month’ title?”—and let your audience have their say.

10. Keep it fun

Not every poll (or survey) needs to be created with the intent of answering a Very Serious Question. After all, you don’t want your audience to feel like they’re the recipients of constant one-sided communication with you—you’re trying to create a dialogue. A poll with a more casual question—“What do you think of the new Avengers movie?” grabs their attention and adds a little fun to the conversation.

So with all that in mind, here’s my poll:

About kimberlyhefty

Hello. My name is Kimberly Hefty and I live in Sammamish, Washington. For the past 23 years I have taught high school and college level mathematics. 13 years ago I started a private tutoring business. I specialize in working with public high school students who are taking math courses "on-line". I work closely with both the students and the local school district. I typically work with 40-50 students per week. I also have 2 children ages 14 and 23. My daughter just graduated from Elon University in North Carolina. My son plays competitive golf and premiere soccer so most of my weekends are spent at either soccer or golf tournaments. I am excited to be completing the Master's In Educational Technology Program from BSU (M.E.T.) Spring 2015! Through this program I have gained a better understanding of educational technology and it’s applications. I believe that the knowledge that I have gained will be beneficial personally, as well as to my students. With these skills that I have learned in the Educational Technology program, I hope to help myself and my students be successful in future endeavors. The M.E.T. program has allowed me to create an environment for all of us, my students along with myself, to gain skills for education, employment, and existence.
This entry was posted in 2.4 Integrated Technologies, 3.1 Media Utilization, STANDARD 3 UTILIZATION, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

