EdTech 537: Pre-Plan for Extended Blogging

math challenge

I have been trying to think about how a blogging plan could really work for me.  I wanted to be consistent with my theme and yet be truly functional.  That is, I wanted to make sure it would be something that I could do week in and week out and that it would add value to both my blog and my job.

I’ve got it!  Problems of the week.  Each week I will create easy, medium, and challenging algebra math problems.  I will post them at the beginning of the week and expect my students to respond.  I will give “rewards” to the student(s) who first correctly respond to the prompts.  If no one has correctly responded by the middle of the week I would post hints or tips.

This is a work in progress but I wanted to see how it would look.  I would love some feedback!  Here’s what I’m thinking:

pow

easy

Solve the following problem. 

Show all work!

x + 7 = 3x -21

 

medium

Find the equation of the line perpendicular to y=1/2 x + 10, going through the point (-4,10)

challenge

” I started working at 15. I spent 1/4 of my working life in a factory. I spent 1/5 of my working life in an office, and I spent 1/3 of my working life as a school caretaker. For the last 13 years of my working life I’ve been Santa Claus. How old am I?”
You need to explain how you got the answer and how you know it is correct

 

Want More?
Word problems in algebra – difficult

 

 

About kimberlyhefty

Hello. My name is Kimberly Hefty and I live in Sammamish, Washington. For the past 23 years I have taught high school and college level mathematics. 13 years ago I started a private tutoring business. I specialize in working with public high school students who are taking math courses "on-line". I work closely with both the students and the local school district. I typically work with 40-50 students per week. I also have 2 children ages 14 and 23. My daughter just graduated from Elon University in North Carolina. My son plays competitive golf and premiere soccer so most of my weekends are spent at either soccer or golf tournaments. I am excited to be completing the Master's In Educational Technology Program from BSU (M.E.T.) Spring 2015! Through this program I have gained a better understanding of educational technology and it’s applications. I believe that the knowledge that I have gained will be beneficial personally, as well as to my students. With these skills that I have learned in the Educational Technology program, I hope to help myself and my students be successful in future endeavors. The M.E.T. program has allowed me to create an environment for all of us, my students along with myself, to gain skills for education, employment, and existence.
This entry was posted in 2.4 Integrated Technologies, 3.1 Media Utilization, STANDARD 3 UTILIZATION and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to EdTech 537: Pre-Plan for Extended Blogging

  1. David Mato says:

    Great idea Kim!
    I suggest that you embed in your blog a Google spreadsheet. You can have the names of your students and the points they get answering correctly your weekly questions. I am sure they are very competitive and are going to be looking forward for your weekly algebra problems!

  2. Great idea David! That would make it easier to keep track of and award points. Thanks for the suggestion.

  3. I really like it Kim. It’s simple but it will really get your students working which is a great formula for success. I do like the idea of a google spreadsheet.

    • Thanks Bryan. I think simple is actually the key. If it’s too complicated then I worry won’t do it consistently. This is something I feel will really benefit students.

      • angiekruzich says:

        Simple is the key!! If it is a ton of work on top of everything else we have to do as teachers, then blogging won’t happen. The way I keep a blog right now in my classroom is to simply post the agenda of the day. I sit down and pre-enter my plans for the week on one day of the week and post date the posts so they post on the appropriate date. If something drastically changes then I go back and do a quick change. I really like having a blogging plan to involve students more, but then something else has to go because work already consumes life six days a week about 8-10 hours per day. I am wondering how others plan to include blogging within their work day?

  4. Great feedback Angie. I agree it could definitely add more “work” to our days … and I already do not have enough time to get everything done. I think the key is simplicity and value. It must “add” to the quality of the instruction or else it will feel like a chore.

Leave a Reply

