EdTech 543: Creative Expression of COP, PLN, and Connectivism

This is an excellent example of Creative Expression of COP, PLN, and Connectivism by my PLN group member Lisa.  You can see my comments below:

http://nebesocialmedia.wordpress.com/2014/09/14/creative-expression-of-cop-pln-and-connectivism/comment-page-1/#comment-2

Lisa,
I love you images of connections.  I believe that showing “family” you visually strengthen the meaning of connections.  Your focus, ” … specifically with their goal to develop children into successful members of society” is well illustrated throughout your presentation and explanation.
You strongly connect your statement, “As their exposure to media, peers, and outside influences increase, the child’s network expands and the child develops their own Personal Learning Network.” to Communities of Practice with your imagery and your explanation.
I personally appreciated that you were consistent in drawing the connections between children and how they learn.  As you explained PLNs, “Their [children] speech, behavior, and attitudes shift a bit with each new resources, friend or out-of -home activity.  With each exposure, they are learning how they should look, act, and interact with others.” You’re YouTube video shows the growth both physically and socially of children.  Initially the primary sources of “information” come from the parents and immediate family but as children grow their “networks” expand to include friends and teachers.
You also used your resources extremely well.  Siemens quote is perfect for enhancing your definition of Connectivism.  Stranak is also an excellent source.  Your final images of social networking sites really enhances your statement, “They are fortunate to live in an age when digital tools allow for such a wide scope of opportunities to find information and share what is learned.”
Overall, excellent work!

Creative Expression of COP, PLN, and Connectivism.

About kimberlyhefty

Hello. My name is Kimberly Hefty and I live in Sammamish, Washington. For the past 23 years I have taught high school and college level mathematics. 13 years ago I started a private tutoring business. I specialize in working with public high school students who are taking math courses "on-line". I work closely with both the students and the local school district. I typically work with 40-50 students per week. I also have 2 children ages 14 and 23. My daughter just graduated from Elon University in North Carolina. My son plays competitive golf and premiere soccer so most of my weekends are spent at either soccer or golf tournaments. I am excited to be completing the Master's In Educational Technology Program from BSU (M.E.T.) Spring 2015! Through this program I have gained a better understanding of educational technology and it’s applications. I believe that the knowledge that I have gained will be beneficial personally, as well as to my students. With these skills that I have learned in the Educational Technology program, I hope to help myself and my students be successful in future endeavors. The M.E.T. program has allowed me to create an environment for all of us, my students along with myself, to gain skills for education, employment, and existence.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

